Haiku as Autobiography

I am cheating on today’s blog post.  I wrote the following over three years ago, for a course in my graduate program, “The Moral Imagination”.  The assignment was to write your autobiography in 100 words or less. No easy feat, believe me.

Even though I wrote this several years ago, it remains truer than ever today.

When my sister and I were 4 and 5, we loved jumping on our parents’ bed.

This was not allowed, of course.  So we became creative and began to make

up songs so that we could “perform” while jumping on the bed, thus

granting us special permission.  In our finest song, we held hands, jumped

in circles and sang:

 

“We are friends.

We are friends.

No matter how snowy

or rainy

or sunny

or cloudy

We are friends.

We are friends”.

 

Several decades of life and all kinds of weather later, we are still

holding hands.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Haiku as Autobiography

  1. So this is the picture of you surprising Missy at Thanksgiving! How wonderful to see the love in both your eyes! What more could a Mother hope for her children that they continue to love one another. By the way, I used to listen to you jumping and singing outside the door. The mattress is toast, but the memories of that still make me laugh!

  2. I love the simplicity of the song yet the duplicity of its purpose Amy! I always loved how you and Missy called each other sissy. What a special bond sisterhood is!

  3. AMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO ‘following’ you! NO NOT STALKING! ‘FOLLOWING’ you blog!!!! WOO HOO!!!! Why you ask? EASY, It’s how I ROLL!!!!

  4. Dearest Amy,
    Just read all of your blog entries. I am deeply moved by the depth and quiet passion you have shared here. You have given me inspiration and direction for my own journey, and I thank you. You are a blessing in the lives of all you know and I offer you blessing and gratitude for all you give to us and the world.
    Love, Carolyne

  5. WHAT CAN I SAY? YOU HAVE FILLED ME WITH DELIGHT TO ENVISION YOUR CHRISTMAS WRITING, HAPPY AND JOYFUL. LOVE YOU SO MUCH SWEET GIRL.
    AUNT MAUR

Leave a Reply

